Read Summary

Advanced Practitioner Society for Hematology and Oncology Board Elects New Officers

Monday, February 11, 2019   (0 Comments)
Wendy H. Vogel, MSN, FNP, AOCNP®, an oncology nurse practitioner from the Wellmont Cancer Institute in Bristol, Tennessee, has been elected by the Board of Directors as the second President of the Board of Directors of the Advanced Practitioner Society for Hematology and Oncology (APSHO). Ms. Vogel is a founding board member of APSHO and has served on the Board of Directors since 2014. In addition to over 30 years of oncology experience, Ms. Vogel has extensive lecturing and clinical writing experience. She succeeds Pamela Hallquist Viale, RN, MS, CNS, ANP, an oncology nurse practitioner from Goleta, California.

Megan May, PharmD, BCOP, a clinical oncology pharmacy specialist from Baptist Health Lexington in Kentucky, has been elected Vice-President of the Board of Directors. She has served on the APSHO board since 2015. Kate Jeffers, PharmD, MHA, BCOP, an ambulatory oncology clinical pharmacy specialist at UC Health – Memorial Hospital in Colorado Springs, was elected to serve as Secretary of the Board. She has served as a member of the APSHO board since 2016. Both Dr. May and Dr. Jeffers are actively involved in the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA) and have helped to bring BCOP certification to the JADPRO Live annual meeting.

Sandra E. Kurtin, PhD, ANP-C, AOCN®, a hematology/oncology nurse practitioner at the University of Arizona Cancer Center, is a founding board member of APSHO and will continue to serve as Treasurer. Dr. Kurtin also serves as an Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine and Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Nursing at the University of Arizona. Ms. Kurtin has 33 years of oncology nursing experience.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email